Announcing Nominees for Top Shelf 2016

    News and Information October 21st, 2015 By Amy Couchoud
    Announcing Nominees for Top Shelf 2016

    Announcing the nominees for our 6th annual Top Shelf -- a showcase of the best stories of the year that will take place at the Lincoln Theater on Jan 9, 2016.  This year, members of the Top Shelf Nominating Committee reviewed over 165 unique stories that were shared on the Story District stage from October 2014 through August 2015 and chose sixteen of the most fantastic, moving, interesting and hilarious stories.  These sixteen nominated stories will be screened by a panel of independent judges who will choose the eight finalists who will perform in the Top Shelf show on January 9, 2016 at the Lincoln Theatre. It’s guaranteed to be great show!

    Tickets on sale now (sold out two weeks before showtime last year, so don't dally. Also, buy in person at either the Lincoln theater or 9:30 Club box office and only pay $1 extra in processing fees).

    Our nominees

    Allison Steinberg
    Andrew Korfhage
    Anne Thomas
    Ashok Ramasubramanian
    Erin Myers
    Graham Campbell
    John Tong
    Keith Mellnick
    Michael Zhuang
    Mike Kane
    Morgan Givens
    Phill Branch
    Sam Kean
    Scott Abrahams
    Shalini Parekh
    Vijai Nathan

    Our judges

    Alexandra Petri - Washington Post columnist, author, playwrights, award-winning pun-maker, and Story District storyteller

    Lauren Landau - Host of WAMU 88.5FM's Art Beat and arts reporter

    Brandon Wetherbee - Managing Editor of Brightest Young Things and host/producer of You, Me, Them, and Everybofy

    Final eight will be announced in early November after our esteemed judges convene.

    *Special thanks to the wonderful Top Shelf Nomination Committee, Amy Saidman, Derek Hills and Stephanie Garibaldi, for their time and thoughtful advice. Produced by Amy Couchoud.

    • No tags for this post

    Related Stories

    comments powered by Disqus Mobile Comments area